

Colonel Lee Read Award

Established in 1964, this award honors the low junior scorer in the Kentucky State Amateur Championship. The award was presented annually from 1964-1990, and was re-instituted in 2006. The award is named in honor of the late Colonel Lee Read, who is considered the "Father of Junior Golf" in Kentucky. He was a long-time member of the first USGA Junior Golf Committee and served as starter at the USGA Junior Amateur Championship and the U.S. Open Championship for a number of years.

Coloner Lee Read Award Winners				
Winner	<u>Score</u>	Year	Winner	<u>Score</u>
Phil Armbruster	305	1981	John Kernohan	302
Kenneth Backus	285	1982	Rob McNamara	300
Stacy Russell	298	1983	Jim Vernon	298
Bruce Ford	300	1984	Steve Flesch	299
Stacy Russell	307	1985	No Award	
Dennis Hurley	303	1986	Tony Guest	307
Eddie Lowry	299	1987	No Award	
Stewart Wheeler	298	1988	Matt McIntire	293
Brad Fabel	292	1989	P.J. McDougal	288
Mike Maynard	291	1990	Patrick Vadden	292
Russ Cochran	288	2006	Jared Wolfe	229
Ralph Landrum	304	2007	Chase Carpenter	220
Jodie Mudd	302	2008	Danny Bishop	222
No Award		2009	Hunter York	145
Pat Stephens	289	2010	Jared Flanery	212
Bruce Blythe, III	299	2011	Brendon Doyle	222
Mike Bibb	297	2012	Tyler McDaniel	212
		2013	Tyler McDaniel	203
	WinnerPhil ArmbrusterKenneth BackusStacy RussellBruce FordStacy RussellDennis HurleyEddie LowryStewart WheelerBrad FabelMike MaynardRuss CochranRalph LandrumJodie MuddNo AwardPat StephensBruce Blythe, III	WinnerScorePhil Armbruster305Kenneth Backus285Stacy Russell298Bruce Ford300Stacy Russell307Dennis Hurley303Eddie Lowry299Stewart Wheeler298Brad Fabel292Mike Maynard291Russ Cochran288Ralph Landrum304Jodie Mudd302No AwardPat Stephens289Bruce Blythe, III299	Winner Score Year Phil Armbruster 305 1981 Kenneth Backus 285 1982 Stacy Russell 298 1983 Bruce Ford 300 1984 Stacy Russell 307 1985 Dennis Hurley 303 1986 Eddie Lowry 299 1987 Stewart Wheeler 298 1989 Mike Maynard 291 1990 Russ Cochran 288 2006 Ralph Landrum 304 2007 Jodie Mudd 302 2008 No Award 2009 Pat Stephens 289 2010 Bruce Blythe, III 299 2011	WinnerScoreYearWinnerPhil Armbruster3051981John KernohanKenneth Backus2851982Rob McNamaraStacy Russell2981983Jim VernonBruce Ford3001984Steve FleschStacy Russell3071985No AwardDennis Hurley3031986Tony GuestEddie Lowry2991987No AwardStewart Wheeler2981988Matt McIntireBrad Fabel2921989P.J. McDougalMike Maynard2911990Patrick VaddenRuss Cochran2882006Jared WolfeRalph Landrum3042007Chase CarpenterJodie Mudd3022008Danny BishopNo Award2009Hunter YorkPat Stephens2892010Jared FlaneryBruce Blythe, III2992011Brendon DoyleMike Bibb2972012Tyler McDaniel

Colonel Lee Read Award Winners